Longlist announced for 2013 Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Longlist announced for 2013 Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Updated On: May 1, 2018
  • Related Shows

    Judi Dench, James McAvoy, Helen Mirren and Kristin Scott Thomas are among the nominees for this year's London Evening Standard Theatre Awards. The shortlist will be announced 8 November and the winners revealed at a ceremony presented by Damian Lewis on 17 November at the Savoy Theatre.

    The National Theatre leads the way with 18 nominations for a variety of its productions including Othello, The Effect, The Amen Corner and new musical The Light Princess. The Royal Court Upstairs received five nominations, along with four nominations apiece for Michael Grandage season at the Noel Coward Theatre, and new play Chimerica. Jamie Lloyd's 'Trafalgar Transformed' season also received three nominations.

    Best Actor

    -    CHIWETEL EJIOFOR, A Season in the Congo (Young Vic)

    -    HENRY GOODMAN, The Resistible Rise Of Arturo Ui (Chichester & Duchess)

    -    HARRY HADDEN-PATON, The Pride (Trafalgar Studios)

    -    JOHN HEFFERNAN, Edward II (National’s Olivier)

    -    LENNY HENRY, Fences (Theatre Royal Bath & Duchess)

    -    RORY KINNEAR, Othello (National’s Olivier)

    -    ADRIAN LESTER, Othello (National’s Olivier)

    -    JAMES MCAVOY, Macbeth (Trafalgar Studios)

    -    JONJO O’NEILL, The Effect (National’s Cottesloe)

    -    CLARKE PETERS, Race (Hampstead)

    -    TOBY STEPHENS, Private Lives (Chichester & Gielgud)

    -    TOM STURRIDGE, No Quarter (Royal Court Upstairs)

    -    DOMINIC WEST, The River (Royal Court Upstairs)

    -    BENEDICT WONG, Chimerica (Almeida & Harold Pinter)

    Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

    -    LINDA BASSETT, Roots (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    ANNA CALDER-MARSHALL, The Herd (Bush)

    -    ANNA CHANCELLOR, Private Lives (Chichester & Gielgud)

    -    JUDI DENCH, Peter and Alice (Noel Coward)

    -    LUCY ELLINSON, Grounded (Gate)

    -    LESLEY MANVILLE, Ghosts (Almeida)

    -    HELEN MIRREN, The Audience (Gielgud)

    -    BILLIE PIPER, The Effect (National’s Cottesloe)

    -    MICHELLE TERRY, A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare’s Globe)

    -    KRISTIN SCOTT THOMAS, Old Times (Harold Pinter)

    -    HARRIET WALTER, Julius Caesar (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    LIA WILLIAMS, Old Times (Harold Pinter)

    Best Play

    -    THE AUDIENCE by Peter Morgan (Gielgud)

    -    CHIMERICA by Lucy Kirkwood (Almeida & Harold Pinter)

    -    COCKTAIL STICKS by Alan Bennett (National’s Lyttelton)

    -    THE DARK EARTH AND THE LIGHT SKY by Nick Dear (Almeida)

    -    THE EFFECT by Lucy Prebble (National’s Cottesloe)

    -    HANDBAGGED by Moira Buffini (Tricycle)

    -    THE NIGHT ALIVE by Conor McPherson (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    PETER AND ALICE by John Logan (Noel Coward)

    -    THE RIVER by Jez Butterworth (Royal Court Upstairs)

    -    TABLE by Tanya Ronder (National’s Shed)

    Best Director

    -    STEPHEN DALDRY for The Audience (Gielgud)

    -    RICHARD EYRE for Ghosts (Almeida)

    -    RUPERT GOOLD for The Effect (National’s Cottesloe)

    -    MICHAEL GRANDAGE for Privates on Parade (Noel Coward)

    -    NICHOLAS HYTNER for Othello (National’s Olivier)

    -    JONATHAN KENT for Private Lives (Chichester & Gielgud)

    -    JAMIE LLOYD for Trafalgar Transformed (Trafalgar Studios)

    -    PHYLLIDA LLOYD for Julius Caesar (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    JAMES MACDONALD for Roots (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    RUFUS NORRIS for The Amen Corner (National’s Olivier)

    -    IAN RICKSON for Old Times (Harold Pinter)

    -    JOSIE ROURKE for The Weir (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    LYNDSEY TURNER for Chimerica (Almeida & Harold Pinter)

    Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical

    -    THE BOOK OF MORMON (Prince of Wales)

    -    CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY (Theatre Royal Drury Lane)

    -    THE LIGHT PRINCESS (National’s Lyttelton)

    -    MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG (Menier Chocolate Factory & Harold Pinter)

    -    ONCE (Phoenix)

    -    THE SOUND OF MUSIC (Regent’s Park Open Air)

    -    TITANIC (Southwark Playhouse)

    Best Musical Performance

    -    ROSALIE CRAIG, The Light Princess (National’s Lyttelton)

    -    GAVIN CREEL, The Book Of Mormon (Prince of Wales)

    -    ZRINKA CVITEŠIC, Once (Phoenix)

    -    CYNTHIA ERIVO, The Color Purple (Menier Chocolate Factory)

    -    DOUGLAS HODGE, Charlie And The Chocolate Factory (Theatre Royal Drury Lane)

    -    CECILIA NOBLE, The Amen Corner (National’s Olivier)

    -    JENNA RUSSELL, Merrily We Roll Along (Menier Chocolate Factory & Harold Pinter)

    -    MARK UMBERS, Merrily We Roll Along (Menier Chocolate Factory & Harold Pinter)

    -    CHARLOTTE WAKEFIELD, The Sound of Music (Regent’s Park Open Air)

    Best Design

    -    FELIX BARRETT, Livi Vaughan & Beatrice Minns, The Drowned Man: A Hollywood Fable (Punchdrunk at Temple Studios)

    -    LIZZIE CLACHAN, Port (National’s Lyttelton)

    -    BOB CROWLEY, People (National’s Lyttelton), The Audience (Gielgud) and Once (Phoenix)

    -    ES DEVLIN, Chimerica (Almeida)


    -    CHRISTOPHER ORAM, Michael Grandage Company season at Noel Coward

    -    RAE SMITH, The Light Princess (National’s Lyttelton)

    -    HILDEGARD BECHTLER, Roots (Donmar Warehouse)

    Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

    -    RACHEL DE-LAHAY, Routes (Royal Court Upstairs)

    -    RORY KINNEAR, The Herd (Bush)

    -    NATHANIEL MARTELLO-WHITE, Blackta (Young Vic)

    -    JANICE OKOH, Three Birds (Bush)

    -    JESSICA SWALE, Blue Stockings (Shakespeare’s Globe)

    -    ANNA WAKULIK, A Time to Reap (Royal Court Upstairs)

    -    PHOEBE WALLER-BRIDGE, Fleabag (Soho)

    Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer

    -    DANIEL BOYD, 4000 Miles (Print Room)

    -    CAOILFHIONN DUNNE, The Night Alive (Donmar Warehouse)

    -    MAX IRONS, Farragut North (Southwark Playhouse)

    -    JENNIFER KIRBY, Pride and Prejudice (Regent’s Park Open Air)

    -    SETH NUMRICH, Sweet Bird of Youth (Old Vic)

    -    KATE O’FLYNN, Port (National’s Lyttelton)

    -    LUKE THOMPSON, A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare’s Globe)

    -    OLIVIA VINALL, Othello (National’s Olivier)

    The judging panel for the London Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2013 includes Henry Hitchings (London Evening Standard), Georgina Brown (Mail on Sunday), Susannah Clapp (The Observer), Libby Purves (formerly The Times), Charles Spencer (The Daily Telegraph), Matt Wolf (The International New York Times) and the London Evening Standard’s Editor, Sarah Sands.