Nominations announced for the 2013 Olivier Awards

Nominations announced for the 2013 Olivier Awards

Updated On: May 1, 2018
  • Related Shows

    Elaine Paige and Ruth Wilson announced this year's Oliver Award nominations at London’s May Fair Hotel. Leading the pack is the National Theatre's highly acclaimed West End transfer THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME with a staggering eight nominations, including MasterCard Best New Play, Best Actor for Luke Treadaway and Best Director for Mariannne Elliot. THE AUDIENCE received five nominations including Best Actress for Helen Mirren, Best Supporting Actor for Richard McCabe, Best New Play, and Best Director for Stephen Daldry.

    As for the musicals, TOP HAT walked away with seven nominations including Best New Musical, Best Actor for Tom Chambers and Best Actress for Summer Strallen. Hot on its top hat and tails was the revival of SWEENEY TODD starring Michael Ball with six nominations and the Old Vic's KISS ME, KATE with five. THE BODYGUARD also received four nominations, including Best New Musical, Best Actress for Heather Headley, and Best Supporting Actress for Debbie Kurup.

    The 2013 Olivier Awards will be handed out 28 April in a ceremony at London's Royal Opera House. See below for a full list of nominees!

    Best Revival Of A Play

    -    Long Day's Journey Into Night

    -    Macbeth

    -    Old Times

    -    Twelfth Night

    Best New Play

    -    Constellations

    -    The Audience

    -    The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time

    -    This House

    Best Actor

    -    Rupert Everett (The Judas Kiss)

    -    James McAvoy (Macbeth)

    -    Mark Rylance (Twelfth Night)

    -    Rafe Spall (Constellations)

    -    Luke Treadaway (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    Best Actress

    -    Helen Mirren (The Audience)

    -    Hattie Morahan (A Doll's House)

    -    Billie Piper (The Effect)

    -    Kristin Scott Thomas (Old Times)

    Best Actor in a Supporting Role

    -    Paul Chahidi (Twelfth Night)

    -    Richard McCabe (The Audience)

    -    Adrian Scarborough (Hedda Gabler)

    -    Kyle Soller (Long Day's Journey Into Night)

    Best Actress in a Supporting Role

    -    Janie Dee (NSFW)

    -    Anastasia Hille (The Effect)

    -    Cush Jumbo (Julius Caesar)

    -    Helen McCrory (The Last Of The Haussmans)

    -    Nicola Walker (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    Best Director

    -    Stephen Daldry (The Audience)

    -    Marianne Elliott (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    -    Jeremy Herrin (This House)

    -    Simon McBurney (The Master And Margarita)

    Best New Musical

    -    Loserville

    -    Soul Sister

    -    The Bodyguard

    -    Top Hat

    Best Musical Revival

    -    A Chorus Line

    -    Cabaret

    -    Kiss Me, Kate

    -    Sweeney Todd

    Best Actor in a Musical

    -    Michael Ball (Sweeney Todd)

    -    Alex Bourne (Kiss Me, Kate)

    -    Tom Chambers (Top Hat)

    -    Will Young (Cabaret)

    Best Actress in a Musical

    -    Heather Headley (The Bodyguard)

    -    Imelda Staunton (Sweeney Todd)

    -    Summer Strallen (Top Hat)

    -    Hannah Waddingham (Kiss Me, Kate)

    Best Performance In A Supporting Role In A Musical

    -    Adam Garcia (Kiss Me, Kate)

    -    Debbie Kurup (The Bodyguard)

    -    Sian Phillips (Cabaret)

    -    Leigh Zimmerman (A Chorus Line)

    BBC Radio 2 Audience Award

    -    Matilda The Musical

    -    Billy Elliot The Musical

    -    The Phantom Of The Opera

    -    Wicked

    Best Costume Design

    -    Bob Crowley (The Audience)

    -    Jon Morrell (Top Hat)

    -    Jenny Tiramani (Twelfth Night)

    -    Anthony Ward (Sweeney Todd)

    Best Lighting Design

    -    Paul Anderson (The Master And Margarita)

    -    Paule Constable (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    -    Lee Curran (Constellations)

    -    Mark Henderson (Sweeney Todd)

    Best Sound Design

    -    Ian Dickinson (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    -    Paul Groothuis (Sweeney Todd)

    -    David McSeveney (Constellations)

    -    Gareth Owen (Top Hat)

    Best Set Design

    -    Hildegard Bechtler (Top Hat)

    -    Miriam Buether & Wang Gongxin (Wild Swans)

    -    Bunny Christie & Finn Ross (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    -    Tim Hatley (The Bodyguard)

    Best Entertainment And Family

    -    St James Theatre's Cinderella

    -    Goodnight Mister Tom

    -    National Theatre's Hansel And Gretel

    -    Room On The Broom

    Best New Dance Production

    -    Aeternum (The Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House, choreographed by Christopher Wheeldon)

    -    Cacti (NDT2 at Sadler's Wells, choreographed by Alexander Ekman)

    -    A Streetcar Named Desire (Scottish Ballet at Sadler's Wells)

    Outstanding Achievement in Dance

    -    Lez Brotherston (set and costumes for Sleeping Beauty, New Adventures at Sadler's Wells)

    -    ILL-Abilities (Breakin’ Convention at Sadler's Wells)

    -    Marianela Nunez (for Aeternum, Diana & Actaeon and Viscera, The Royal Ballet at the ROH)

    Best New Opera Production

    -    Billy Budd (English National Opera at the London Coliseum)

    -    Caligula (ENO, London Coliseum)

    -    Einstein On The Beach (Barbican Theatre)

    -    La Traviata (ENO, London Coliseum)

    Outstanding Achievement in Opera

    -    Edward Gardner (for his conducting of Billy Budd and The Flying Dutchman for ENO)

    -    Bryan Hymel (for his performances in Les Troyes, Robert Le Diable & Rusalka at the ROH)

    -    Music Theatre Wales (for In The Locked Room/Ghost Patrol at the Linbury, ROH)

    -    The Stage Management teams at ENO's London Coliseum and at the ROH

    Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre

    -    Caroline Horton (You're Not Like The Other Girls Chrissy – Bush Theatre)

    -    Red Velvet (Tricycle Theatre)

    -    The season of new writing at the Royal Court Upstairs

    -    Kate Bond and Morgan Lloyd (You Me Bum Bum Train, presented by Theatre Royal Stratford East)

    Best Theatre Choreographer

    -    Scott Ambler (Chariots Of Fire)

    -    Bill Deamer (Top Hat)

    -    Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time)

    -    Stephen Mear (Kiss Me, Kate)

    Special Award

    -    Gillian Lynne

    -    Michael Frayn

  • Book Matilda Tickets
    Find Matilda The Musical tickets online today with LOVEtheatre, and witness the magic of Roald Dahl’s story live on stage at the Cambridge Theatre. Below you’ll...
    From £24.00
    Book The Phantom Of The Opera Tickets
    The Phantom Of The Opera
    Experience the unmissable The Phantom of the Opera in London’s West End at Her Majesty's Theatre. Now celebrating 32 years, book your The Phantom of the Opera tickets...
    From £30.00
    Book WICKED Tickets
    Get tickets to the multi award winning WICKED at London’s Apollo Victoria Theatre. Discover the untold story of the Wicked Witch of the West and book your WICKED tickets...
    From £25.75